Award Notification – Austrian Best Business in the GCC Award 2015

We are delighted to announce the winner of the “Austrian Best Business in the GCC” Award 2015 for outstanding achievements in fostering business relations between Austria and the Gulf Countries


Thomas Stiegler, Member of Executive Board
Thorsten Härtel – Technical Manager

PORR Group is one of Austria’s largest construction companies and a leading player in Europe. Successful business activities of PORR are mainly in Qatar with the biggest challenge to construct the largest project in company history, the Doha Metro Green Line Underground.
The total contract amount of 1,9 bn Euro contains the main activities of operating 6 Tunnel Boring Machines (TBM) simultaneously.
Furthermore, we would like to extend our congratulations to the two companies that tied at 2nd place.

2nd Place Winner

West Coast Saubermacher Environmental Services L.L.C.

WestCoast Saubermacher is a joint venture of the local company “West Coast” and the Austrian partner “Saubermacher AG”.
In Austria, Saubermacher is a leader in developing sustainable processes in Waste Management (e.g. Zero Waste Treatment Plant).
In 2015 WestCoast Saubermacher entered the Omani market and already got awarded 2 outstanding projects (Waste Collection in Dofar and Al Dakhiliya).

2nd Place Winner

Zumtobel Lighting GmbH

Zumtobel, an international recognized Austrian Company, has been developing innovative, custom lighting solutions that meet extremely exacting requirements in terms of ergonomics, economic efficiency and environmental compatibility and also deliver aesthetic added value.
In 2015 they got awarded 2 new projects, a 7star rehab center in Qatar and the Al Jilila Children’s Hospital.
Many thanks to everyone who took the time & effort to participate, it was a very close competition between all of your “Austrian Best Business in the GCC”. We are looking forward to a big turnout next year.
Additional we would like to extend our gratitude to Mr. Oliver Zuegel from Franck & Prime who has kindly sponsored the AWARD Trophy for 2015.